Skip to content

Best Commercial Security Companies of 2026: Who Actually Breaks Out Install Cost and Monthly Fees

Best Commercial Security Companies of 2026: Who Actually Breaks Out Install Cost and Monthly Fees
Table of contents

If you are shopping for the best business security system in 2026, the frustrating part is rarely the equipment. It is that most commercial security systems companies will not tell you what anything costs until a salesperson has walked your building. This roundup ranks the national providers, the cloud-native platforms and the local licensed integrator on one measurable property: how completely they disclose the four numbers a commercial buyer needs before signing. We do not install, monitor or sell equipment, and none of the companies below paid to appear here, so we can score them the way their own sales pages never will.

Which commercial security companies break out install cost and monthly fees clearly?

As of September 2026, only three national names publish both an installation price and a monthly monitoring rate for business customers: ADT Business ($299 installation, monitoring from $52.99 per month, 36-month term), Alert 360 ($420 to $1,155 equipment and installation, $53.99 to $69.99 per month, 36-month term) and SimpliSafe Business ($1.17 to $3.33 per day, no contract, professional installation from $124.99). Verkada publishes hardware list prices but not labour. Everon, Johnson Controls, Securitas Technology, Brinks, Vector Security, Guardian Protection and Brivo quote only after a site visit or through a dealer.

The four numbers every business security system cost must break out

A commercial security quote is only comparable to another quote if both disclose the same four figures. Any proposal missing one of them cannot be evaluated on total cost of ownership, and the missing number is usually the one that costs the most.

  • Equipment purchase price. Panel, sensors, cameras, readers, controllers and communicators, itemised, with a statement of whether you own them or the provider does.
  • Installation and labour. Wiring, mounting, programming, permits and commissioning, stated separately from equipment so a subsidised install cannot hide inside the monthly rate.
  • Monthly monitoring or cloud service. Central-station monitoring, cellular communicator fees, per-camera cloud storage and per-door access software, each as its own line.
  • Total contractual obligation. Initial term, what happens at renewal, the early-termination formula, and who owns the hardware when the term ends.

Why does a missing number break the comparison? Because the industry routinely trades one against another. A $299 install with a 36-month commitment at $52.99 per month is a $2,207 obligation, not a $299 purchase. A cloud camera quoted at $999 is not the full price if it needs a separate licence to record. And a "free" panel that remains the provider's property means you start from zero the day you switch. The business alarm monitoring service page covers the contract mechanics in more detail; the rest of this article applies them to named companies.

Transparency scorecard: commercial security systems companies compared

The table scores each company on what it publicly discloses, not on equipment quality or monitoring performance. "Published" means the figure appears on the company's own website without submitting contact details. Every figure carries its source and the month we checked it.

CompanyPublishes install costPublishes monthly ratePublished install / equipment figurePublished monthly figureStandard termRenewal and early terminationEquipment ownership at term endFire alarm in same proposalSource
ADT BusinessYes (entry package only)Yes (starting rate)$299 installation of Interactive Package (list $599), panel, LTE radio, 2 door/window sensors, 1 motionFrom $52.99/mo with QSP warranty and autopay36 monthsEarly termination: up to 90% of remaining monthly charges; small business contracts auto-renew in one-year terms"Professionally installed system remains property of ADT"Yes, fire and life-safety monitoring offeredADT business terms, Sept 2026
Alert 360Yes (four packages)Yes (per package)$420 (Starter, list $845) to $1,155 (Premium, list $1,750), equipment and professional installation$53.99/mo (Starter) to $69.99/mo (Premium)36 months, approved creditDefined in the service agreement, not publishedNot stated on pricing pageNot listed on business pricing pageAlert 360 business pricing, Sept 2026
SimpliSafe BusinessYesYes (three tiers)Equipment purchased outright; professional installation from $124.99Core Business $1.17/day, Pro Business $2.33/day, Pro Plus Business $3.33/day (about $35 to $100/mo)None; month-to-monthNo cancellation feesCustomer owns equipmentNo; SimpliSafe states its smoke/CO detectors may not suit commercial code requirementsSimpliSafe business monitoring, Sept 2026
VerkadaHardware yes, labour noPartly (annual licences)Cameras $699 to $5,299 MSRP; AC42 four-door controller $1,999; licence required per deviceBasic Alarms site licence $600/yr including professional monitoring; Video Alarms $1,500/yr; camera licences priced per term1, 3, 5 or 10-year licencesDevices stop functioning without an active licenceCustomer owns hardware; software is subscriptionFire alarm monitoring added to Command platformVerkada pricing, Sept 2026
BrivoNo (dealer installed)No (editions listed, prices not)Not published; no pricing page was live when we checkedNot published; one dealer blog cites about $13.50/mo for the first two doors on the entry edition (unverified)Subscription runs from activation to expiry or terminationBrivo may disable system access on terminationHardware bought through the dealer; cloud access ends when the subscription doesAlarm monitoring offered; fire not statedBrivo terms; dealer pricing summary
Everon (formerly ADT Commercial)NoNoNot publishedNot published; recurring services invoiced quarterly in advanceSet per agreementNot publishedSet per agreementYes, fire alarm design, install, inspection and monitoringEveron terms of sale, Sept 2026
Johnson ControlsNoNoNot publishedNot publishedSet per agreementOne public county contract allows termination on 30 days' written noticeSame contract: equipment becomes customer property once installation charges are paid in fullYes, fire detection is a core product lineHardin County commercial sales agreement
Securitas TechnologyNoNoNot publishedNot published"Normally at least 12 months", varying up to several yearsContracts include cancellation clauses for both partiesSet per agreementYes, fire is part of the integrated offerSecuritas Annual Report 2025
Brinks Business SecurityNoNoNot published; no business pricing page was live when we checkedNot published for commercial accountsSet per agreementNot publishedNot publishedCommercial fire detection in select markets per investor materialsBrink's investor presentation
Vector SecurityNoNoNot published; "Get a Free Assessment" onlyNot publishedThird-party reviews report 36 months as standardNot publishedNot publishedYes, intrusion and fire alarm sold togetherVector small business page, Sept 2026
Guardian ProtectionNoNoNot publishedNot publishedSet per agreementNot publishedNot publishedYes, lists Fire-Lite and Silent Knight fire panels among partnersGuardian business security, Sept 2026
Screened local licensed integratorYes, in the proposalYes, in the proposalTypically $3,000 to $10,000 installed for a small business; $10,000 to $50,000 for a mid-size building$30 to $75/mo basic intrusion; $60 to $150/mo with fire reportingMonth-to-month to 36 months common; 36 to 60 with fireOften auto-renews; negotiate a 30-day out at renewalNegotiable; insist it is stated in the proposal (why)Depends on the firm's fire licence; askOur cost guide, reviewed quarterly

Company by company: what each will and will not tell you before a site visit

ADT Business

As of September 2026, ADT publishes a $299 installation charge for its Interactive Package and monitoring starting at $52.99 per month on a 36-month agreement, per its business terms and conditions. The fine print matters: $299 is a discounted install (list $599) of a four-sensor kit, the rate requires ADT's Quality Service Plan warranty and autopay, early termination can cost 90% of remaining monthly charges, and the installed system remains ADT's property. ADT's genuine strengths are national coverage, redundant monitoring centres and a real commercial line including access control and fire monitoring. Everything beyond the starter kit is custom-priced. The question to ask: "What is the total of all monthly charges over 36 months, and what do I own on day 1,096?"

Alert 360

As of September 2026, Alert 360 is the most transparent traditional alarm dealer on this list. Its business pricing page lists four packages with equipment-and-installation prices ($420 Starter, $925 Advanced, $1,030 Pro, $1,155 Premium after promotional discounts) and monitoring from $53.99 to $69.99 per month, all on a 36-month agreement with approved credit. That is the two-number disclosure most competitors avoid. It does not publish the early-termination formula or equipment ownership, and the packages are built around a small-business panel, so multi-door buildings still end in a custom quote. The question to ask: "Is early termination the full remaining balance, and does the panel transfer to me at term end?"

SimpliSafe Business

As of September 2026, SimpliSafe Business publishes everything: monitoring at $1.17, $2.33 and $3.33 per day for its Core, Pro and Pro Plus Business tiers (roughly $35, $70 and $100 per month), no contract, no cancellation fees, and professional installation from $124.99 on hardware you purchase outright. For a single-tenant office or small retail unit that is the cleanest cost structure available. The limits are commercial ones: SimpliSafe's own FAQ warns its smoke, CO and glass-break devices may not suit commercial settings, so it cannot replace a code-required fire alarm; there is no per-door access control; and cloud recording caps at 10 cameras. The question to ask: "Will my insurer and landlord accept a wireless, self-installed system as meeting the lease's security clause?"

Verkada

As of September 2026, Verkada is the most transparent cloud-native platform on hardware: its public pricing catalogue lists MSRP for every camera ($699 for the CM22 mini to $5,299 for a 4K PTZ), $1,999 for a four-door access controller and $600 per year for a Basic Alarms site licence that includes professional monitoring. It does not list the two numbers that dominate a real project: installation labour, which comes from a reseller, and the per-camera cloud licence, sold in 1, 3, 5 or 10-year terms through the reseller quote. You own the hardware, but a camera without a current licence stops recording, so the licence renewal is your real term. Verkada has also announced fire alarm monitoring for its Command platform. The question to ask: "What is the total licence cost per device over five years, and the reseller's labour rate per camera and per door?"

Brivo

As of September 2026, Brivo publishes its edition structure but no prices; no pricing page was live when we checked, and the platform is sold and installed through certified dealers. One dealer-published summary puts the entry edition at about $13.50 per month for the first two doors, falling per door as counts rise, but treat that as a dealer indication, not a Brivo price list. Brivo's strength is mature cloud access control backed by a large dealer network, which gives you a choice of installers. Its terms allow Brivo to disable system access on termination, the cloud equivalent of a repossessed panel. The question to ask: "What is the per-door subscription at my door count, and does it rise at renewal?"

Everon (formerly ADT Commercial)

As of September 2026, Everon publishes no prices. It is the enterprise integrator spun out of ADT Commercial and relaunched under its own name in 2024; ADT's 2020 annual report said that commercial business's contracts generally ran five years, a useful baseline for what to expect. Its terms of sale disclose invoicing cadence (recurring services billed quarterly in advance) but not rates, terms or termination formulas. What Everon does better than almost anyone is scope: intrusion, access, video, fire alarm design and inspection, sprinkler monitoring and a national account programme in one proposal. It describes its market as enterprise-scale commercial customers, so a small single-tenant office is more likely to be served by ADT Business. The question to ask: "Break the proposal into equipment, labour, recurring services and inspection fees, with renewal terms on each."

Johnson Controls

As of September 2026, Johnson Controls publishes no pricing for the commercial security, fire detection and building controls it sells under the Tyco and related brands. What is visible are public-sector contracts. One Texas county fire-system agreement shows terms private buyers rarely see offered: termination on 30 days' written notice and equipment becoming the customer's property once installation charges are paid in full. Those terms exist in JCI's paper, so they are negotiable. JCI's strengths are engineered fire and life-safety systems and integration with building automation in larger facilities; a small building may be a low priority. The question to ask: "Does this agreement use the same ownership-on-payment and notice terms as your public-sector contracts?"

Securitas Technology

As of September 2026, Securitas Technology (the former Stanley Security) publishes no pricing. Its parent's 2025 annual report says contracts "normally have a duration of at least 12 months", varying up to several years, with cancellation clauses for both parties. That is a shorter default than the 36-month dealer norm and worth pressing on. Its strengths are scale, a global footprint and multi-site programme management. The question to ask: "Quote the 12-month and 36-month terms side by side, with the install price difference between them."

Brinks, Vector Security and Guardian Protection

As of September 2026, these three dealers share the same posture: business pricing on request. Brinks Business Security installs and monitors commercial systems, including fire detection, in select markets according to its investor materials, but no commercial rates or business pricing page were live when we checked. Vector Security sells intrusion, fire alarm, access and video to small, regional and national accounts and offers only a "free assessment". Guardian Protection lists Johnson Controls, Brivo, Fire-Lite and Silent Knight among its partners, so it can put access, video and a code-compliant fire panel in one proposal, but publishes no costs. Third-party reviews report 36-month standard terms at Vector and up to 60 months at Guardian, mostly on residential agreements; treat commercial terms as unknown until you see the paper. The question for all three: "Send the standard commercial agreement before the site visit."

The local licensed integrator: a category, not a company

A screened local integrator, licensed in your state and carrying general liability insurance, prices a building differently from a national brand. The install number is larger because you are buying the equipment outright at something close to distributor cost plus labour, rather than having it subsidised into a monthly rate. The monthly number is usually smaller because you are paying for monitoring, not amortising hardware. Our business alarm monitoring cost guide puts basic commercial intrusion monitoring at $30 to $75 per month, with cellular or dual-path communication adding $5 to $20; a national package's $53 to $70 sits in the middle of that band but carries the hardware inside it.

Over 36 months the totals move closer than the headline numbers suggest. Take the ADT entry package: $299 installation plus 36 payments of $52.99 is $2,207, and the system stays ADT's property. A local integrator installing an owned alarm at the $3,000 floor of our small-business range, monitored at $30 to $75 per month, lands between $4,080 and $5,700 over the same 36 months; at $5,000 installed it is $6,080 to $7,700. You pay more in cash, but the owned system will usually include more than four sensors, at month 37 any licensed dealer can take it over at a competitive monitoring rate, and you never face a 90% early-termination formula. Which is cheaper depends on whether you plan to be in the building, and with that provider, for five years or more.

The other structural difference is scope. A local integrator will quote intrusion, cameras and access control in one proposal; whether fire alarm belongs in the same proposal depends on whether the firm holds a fire alarm licence in your state. Ask for the licence number, not a yes.

Worked examples: cost of security system for business by building size

These are planning ranges drawn from our cost guides, which are cross-checked against published sources and reviewed quarterly. They are not quotes. Actual proposals move with door construction, ceiling height, cable runs, camera resolution and local labour rates.

Small office, about 3,000 square feet

Scope: alarmed front and rear doors, two motion detectors, four cameras, one access-controlled door.

  • Equipment and installation: $3,000 to $10,000 installed for the alarm-plus-camera scope per our commercial security system cost guide, with four cameras at $500 to $900 each installed as the largest line; one standard access door adds $1,500 to $3,500. Ask for equipment and labour as separate lines even when the bidder prices them together.
  • Monitoring: $30 to $75 per month intrusion, plus $3.50 to $15 per door per month for cloud access software
  • Contract: month-to-month to 36 months

Mid-size building, about 15,000 square feet

Scope: perimeter and interior intrusion zones, twelve cameras, six access-controlled doors, supervised fire alarm reporting.

  • Equipment and installation: $10,000 to $50,000 for the integrated intrusion and video scope; six standard doors at $1,500 to $3,500 each per our access control installation cost guide add $9,000 to $21,000; a mid-size addressable fire alarm, if the building needs one, is a separate $12,000 to $60,000 per our commercial fire alarm cost guide
  • Monitoring: $60 to $150 per month for intrusion with fire reporting; $21 to $90 per month for six doors of cloud access; $10 to $30 per camera per month if video is cloud-recorded
  • Contract: 36 to 60 months is typical where fire monitoring is included; annual fire inspection adds $250 to $1,200

Multi-site business, five locations

Scope: standardised intrusion and video at each site, central management, access control at main entries.

  • Equipment and installation: $50,000 to $150,000 or more across the portfolio, depending on per-site camera and door counts
  • Monitoring: $150 to $500 or more per month in aggregate; video-verified monitoring adds $50 to $150 per camera per month where used
  • Contract: 36 to 60 months, usually with a master agreement and per-site schedules; insist that a closed site can be removed without penalty

How to get the four numbers on one basis

Two commercial quotes almost never arrive scoped the same way: one counts eight doors and the other six, one buries the cellular communicator in the monthly rate, one prices 4K cameras and the other 2 MP. The fix is to control the scope yourself before the first contractor visits.

Write a one-page building profile: square footage, construction type, number of alarmed openings, number of access-controlled doors and their construction (hollow metal, glass storefront, masonry), camera count with indoor/outdoor split, whether a fire alarm exists or is required, desired monitoring type (cellular, dual-path, video-verified), preferred term and a hard requirement that equipment ownership be stated. Send the identical profile to each bidder and ask for the four numbers as separate lines. Then screen the bidders, not just the bids: state licence lookup against the licensing board, a current certificate of insurance, complaint history and evidence of work in your building type.

That is the process we run. Businesses submit one profile through our five-minute quote form, and we forward the same scope, including doors, cameras, monitoring rate, term length and equipment ownership, to up to three contractors licensed in the state, insured and experienced with the building type, as described on our how it works page. The service is free to the business; contractors pay us for the introduction and cannot pay to influence who prices a building.

Methodology

We selected the eleven companies above because they are the national alarm and integration brands and the two leading cloud platforms that come up most often in the quote requests we receive, plus the local licensed integrator as its own category. We scored each on four criteria, weighted equally: whether installation cost is published, whether monthly monitoring or software cost is published, whether the contract term and termination formula are published, and whether equipment ownership at term end is stated. Every price on this page was read from the company's own website or filings in September 2026 and is linked at the point of use; where only third-party figures exist, they are labelled as such. Ranges for the integrator category and the worked examples come from our cost guides, whose research method is described on our about page. Commercial Security Pros LLC does not install, monitor or mark up equipment, and no company in this comparison paid for placement or was offered a chance to review the scoring.

Frequently asked questions

Which commercial security companies actually publish their installation cost and their monthly monitoring fee separately, and which ones will only give you a number after a sales visit?

As of September 2026, ADT Business, Alert 360 and SimpliSafe Business publish both an installation figure and a monthly rate; Verkada publishes hardware MSRP but not installation. Everon, Johnson Controls, Securitas Technology, Brinks Business Security, Vector Security, Guardian Protection and Brivo price only after a consultation or through a dealer. Published figures are entry-level; anything with multiple access doors or a fire panel is custom-quoted by every company on the list.

What does ADT charge a business for installation versus monthly monitoring, and how long is the agreement?

ADT's published business offer is $299 installation for its Interactive Package (discounted from $599) and monitoring from $52.99 per month, on a 36-month agreement that requires ADT's Quality Service Plan and autopay enrolment. Early termination can be charged at 90% of the remaining monthly charges, and the installed system remains ADT's property. Larger systems are custom-priced after a site assessment.

What are SimpliSafe Business's monitoring tiers and what does professional installation cost on top of them?

SimpliSafe Business offers three monitoring tiers: Core Business at $1.17 per day, Pro Business at $2.33 per day and Pro Plus Business at $3.33 per day, roughly $35, $70 and $100 per month, with no contract and no cancellation fee. Professional installation is an optional add-on starting at $124.99. Equipment is purchased outright and belongs to the customer.

What four numbers should I ask every security company for before I sign anything?

Ask for the equipment purchase price, the installation and labour charge, the monthly monitoring or cloud software fee, and the total contractual obligation including term length, renewal mechanism, early-termination formula and equipment ownership at term end. A quote missing any one of these cannot be compared with another on total cost of ownership. Get each as a separate line item, not a bundled monthly figure.

Is a national provider like ADT or Johnson Controls cheaper than a local licensed integrator over a 36-month term?

For an entry-level alarm, a national package is usually cheaper over 36 months on cash paid: ADT's published $299 install plus $52.99 per month totals about $2,207, against roughly $4,080 to $5,700 for an owned system from a local integrator at the $3,000 floor of our small-business installed range. But the national system remains the provider's property while the integrator-installed system is yours, so the local option is often cheaper from year four onward and whenever you switch providers. For multi-door access control and fire, neither ADT nor Johnson Controls publishes prices, so that comparison has to be made on quotes.

Who owns the alarm panel, cameras and readers when the monitoring contract ends?

It depends on the agreement, and it must be in writing. ADT's business terms state that a professionally installed system remains ADT's property; SimpliSafe customers own their equipment outright; Johnson Controls' public contracts transfer ownership once installation charges are paid in full; local integrators commonly sell you the hardware on day one, but a subsidised low monthly rate can mean the dealer retains it, so get ownership in writing. Cloud platforms such as Verkada and Brivo leave you owning the hardware but dependent on an active licence or subscription for it to function.

What is a typical installed price and monthly fee for a commercial security system in a small office, a mid-size building and a multi-site business?

Planning ranges from our cost guides are $3,000 to $10,000 installed and $30 to $75 per month for a small office; $10,000 to $50,000 installed and $60 to $150 per month for a mid-size building with fire reporting, plus $1,500 to $3,500 per access-controlled door; and $50,000 to $150,000 or more installed and $150 to $500 or more per month for a multi-site business. These are not quotes; actual pricing depends on door construction, camera count and local labour.

How do I compare two commercial security quotes when they are not scoped the same way?

Normalise both to the same building profile before comparing dollars: count doors, openings, cameras and monitoring type in each, add missing items at the other bidder's unit price, then restate both as equipment, installation, monthly fee and total term obligation. If a quote cannot be restated that way, ask that bidder to requote against the written profile rather than guessing.

Which companies will quote alarm, cameras, access control and fire monitoring in one proposal?

Everon, Johnson Controls, Securitas Technology, Guardian Protection, Vector Security and ADT Business all sell fire alarm alongside intrusion, video and access, and can put them in one proposal. Verkada has announced fire alarm monitoring for its cloud platform. SimpliSafe and Alert 360's published packages do not include code-compliant commercial fire alarm; a local integrator can only include fire if it holds a fire alarm licence in your state.

What happens at renewal on a commercial monitoring agreement, and what is the early termination charge?

Commercial monitoring agreements often auto-renew unless written notice is given 30 to 60 days before the end date; ADT's small business contract renews in successive one-year terms, and many dealer agreements renew for another full term. Early termination is typically the balance remaining on the term: ADT's published business terms allow 90% of remaining monthly charges, and published video-monitoring penalties run 50% to 100% of remaining contract value. Ask for both figures in writing before signing.

How do I get comparable pricing from more than one licensed contractor without calling five sales teams?

Write one building profile and send it to every bidder with a request for the four numbers as separate lines, or use a service that does the scoping and screening for you. Our free matching process forwards one profile to up to three licensed, insured contractors experienced with your building type and asks each for installed cost, monthly rate, term and equipment ownership on the same basis. The best business security system for your building is the one whose four numbers you can actually see before you sign.

Ready to get started?

Talk to our team and see how we can help.